Burgandy Sallie Jumpsuit (AKA Secret Pajamas)


sallie-jumpsuit-sarah-kate-creations-title

I’m back with my second Sallie Jumpsuit. This one is made out of a lighter rayon jersey, also bought at Fabrixx in San Francisco for $3.99 a yard. SCORE. It makes it so easy to take risks and just sew it up when it isn’t such a financial burden (although I try not to be too frivolous due to the environmental impact of creating, dyeing, and shipping fabrics). 
This version of Closet Case Files Sallie Jumpsuit makes me feel like a rockstar. Not sure why as they are also the best secret pajamas ever, but I decided to roll with it. I ended up with a rock tinged photoshoot, complete with leather jacket and offensive hand gestures (you’ve been warned). ROCK AND ROLL. lol.

 

closet-case-files-sallie-jumpsuit-sarah-kate-creations

I’m not sure about this draped look on the back. Although I think that it is more apparent in photos than IRL.

The light rayon fabric that I chose is very different from the medium weight knit that I used for the black version. It is so soft and floaty and comfy, almost too comfy, like sometimes it kinda feels like I’m not wearing clothes, in a slightly creepy, overly revealing way. In fact, I’m still on the fence about whether I can wear these for anything, but pjs, even though my husband and bestie insure me that they are perfectly appropriate. What do you think?

Apparently this is how I pose when I’m feeling like a badass. In pic #1 I’m saying stay the fuck away or I will crush you and in pic #2 I’m a Charlie’s Angel. Fun times with a tripod and a remote.

I made a couple changes to this pattern. The most obvious one being that I removed the pockets. I am not really sure how I feel about this. The pockets added a little extra padding on the hips, but without them the design feels a little plain. I think in this fabric you would have been able to see the line of the pocket bag on the leg. I am also starting to think that this wasn’t really the right fabric for the pattern.

The other changes that I made include lengthening the crotch line by a half inch in the back, but I think this clingy fabric could have used with a little more added length. I also shortened the hem by 2.5 inches and will probably shorten it by another half inch or so. I want to be a able to wear it with my 2 inch wedges and I am 5 foot 6 and will be leaving it with a raw hem, in case you were wondering. I didn’t alter the pattern in any other way.

Sarah-Kate-Creations-Sallie-Jumpsuit-Purple

So the jury is still out on this super comfy jumpsuit that makes me feel like a badass. They have been okay’d for my JazzFest 2016 Party Time Wardrobe, but will they really make it? Only time will tell. (and your opinion would be much appreciated)

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Gabriela says:

    Love it!!

Leave a Reply

