Sallie Jumpsuit Review

Closet-Case-Files-Knit-Jumsuit-indie-sewing-pattern-sarah-kate-creations

I have a secret. It’s bad and it’s dark and it’s an addiction…. an addiction to jumpsuits! I’m serious I LOVE them. I just realize I love them so much I lost count of how many I own. Let me see…. A vintage navy silk one ($10, score!), a black and white Calvin Kline one, a vintage leopard print one (its fabulous, leopard print blouse with plunging neckline and black bottoms, and two Sallies, although I have more planned. Whew! That’s a lot of jumpsuits! I told you it was deep and dark and scary.

model-pose-sarah-kate-creations-sallie-jumpsuit

It has pockets! I’m not sure that if I like the or not. It adds a lot of layers on my hips.

I have loved jumpsuits for awhile now, but for some reason was convinced that I couldn’t sew them because, A) I “can’t” sew pants, and B) I have a “big” butt and therefore a jumpsuit would be impossible to fit. Even though I have bought them RTW just fine. As you can tell I was telling myself some pretty lavish stories to keep myself from failing. BUT finally fearless sewing prevailed and I bought the Sallie PDF during last year’s Black Friday sales.

Sallie-Jumpsuit-Black-Back-View-Sarah-Kate-Creations

Booty with jus t touch of weggie. Hopefully I can ditch the web without going into saggy the realm of the saggy bottom.

Well long story short (too late) I love this pattern as much as I love all my jumpsuits, too the moon and back! They are soooooo easy to sew and sooooooo comfortable. Serious secret pajamas. Seriously sexy secret pajamas (while staying modest, the best kind of glamorous sexy).

Closet-Case-Files-Indie-Pattern-Sarah-Kate-Creations-Black-Knit

As I was saying this pattern was incredibly easy to sew and very intuitive. I just followed the direction and in less then a day I had a jumpsuit. That is super fast for me to have anything finished, but I also think I am beginning to sew faster. In my haste however I did manage to warp the neckline, a major reason that I see sewing more Sallies in the future (that and I found some amazing fabric). I am thinking about covering the neckline with some appliqué or trying to save the neckline with some invisible elastic along the inner edge of the neckline. Thoughts? Suggestions?

Sarah-Kate-Creations-Black-Sallie-Jumpsuit

My model pose…. having fun with the camera.

This was a wearable muslin, as much as you can make wearable muslin for a knit, and the fabric was only $4 p/yd, so I am happy with the results, but I will make some changes in the future. The legs a VERY long. I am 5′ 6″ which is the height that the pattern is designed for and I plan on taking off at least 2″ in the future. I am wearing my highest platform heels in these photos and the hem still sweeps the floor. I also think that the crotch seam needs to be dropped a bit. I am not sure how much and I don’t want to end up with saggy bottom so I will play with that until I get it right. Stay tuned….

8 Comments Add yours

    1. Thanks! I try 🤘🏻🤓

  1. dr P says:

    No wonder you love jumpsuits, this looks lovely on you. I think you are right about the bum though but that should be a fairly straightforward fix next time.

    The problem with jumpsuits for me is that it’s just too cold here. I can’t bear having to get half undressed everytime I need the loo!

    1. Yeah, having to use the bathroom is kinda a downer in a jumpsuit. Especially in public restrooms. I’m in California so I can’t imagine if it was cold too!

  2. I love this pattern! the jumpsuit looks great.

    1. Thank you so much! This was my first Closet Case pattern. I think I’m in love.

  3. I’m a big jumpsuit fan too! Your Sallie looks stylish and comfy. As for the neckline maybe you could sew some fringe around it, although I don’t think it looks bad.

    1. OMG. I’m super into fringe right now too (feeling very trendy these days). Why didn’t I think of that!

Leave a Reply

