Daily Uniform: Seamwork’s Mesa Dress

Seamwork-Patterns-Mesa-Dress

I’ve been on an unknowing quest for knit and TNT patterns this year. My life has been busy lately and I needed an easy uniform that resisted wrinkling, and could be dressed up or worn casual. And in walked the Mesa Dress by Seamwork I have tried many knit dress pattern including, Moneta, Violet, and Tiramisu, and this is one of my favorites. I have made three (only two are pictured) and they have all been in constant rotation for weeks. They make a perfect base for my California Girl winter wardrobe which is based around layers. the daily uniform has become a knit dress with leggings, boots, a cardigan, and a fun scarf.

I searched far and wide for this fabric. I ordered from two separate stores online only to be told they were sold out. I bought this yardage at B & J Fabrics during my trip to NYC.

The knit Mesa Dress is a simple unassuming pattern that is drafted like a dream, at least for my shape. It is one of those patterns that people compliment me on regularly. More than one person has told me they new I made it because it fit so well. It kinda makes me giggle really because it is so simple to sew. My more complicated pieces get complimented much less, curios.

Bird-Knit-Mesa-Pattern

Anyways, back to the Mesa Dress, I did my usual internet research before sewing for the first time and found two common issues. People talked about it being very short and a little tight. These two observations lead me to choose to cut a size large even though my measurements fall between medium and large. I am glad I did, the fit is just what I was looking for with no alterations.

Knit-Mesa-Dress

This is how I styled the dress for a trip to the grocery store. Exciting stuff.

I assumed that the pattern would also be a bit short for me since that was a common issue on the interwebs. So, I lengthened the Mesa pattern two inches the first time I sewed it up (this dress is not pictured). This was not a mistake as I still like the dress, which hits at the knee, but it made it a bit too long to wear with leggings. Sarai lives in the Pacific Northwest and this dress was made for wearing with leggings, it was even released to be worn with the Manila Leggings and Oslo Cardigan (which I have in my stash waiting to be sewn). If you don’t plan on wearing it with leggings it will feel a bit short and you should lengthen it. I prefer it at its unaltered length because I love leggings and live in them in the winter.

This electric blue fabric just keeps on giving. I got three yards for $8 at Paron’s due to some small stains and have made three different garments out of it! I get compliments on this dress often, even more then the feather dress, which was much more expensive. Love that.

The Mesa Dress is an immediate TNT pattern for me. No alterations, comfy, cozy, easy breezy, and it packs great! This all equates to a dream pattern for me. I’d recommend this pattern to any sewist. It is a great pattern for knit beginners.

Mesa-Dress-Seamwork-Patterns

Sitting on the deck looking off into the distance… not realizing that my braid has gone down my shirt.

Leave a Reply

