NYC, A Handmade Travel Wardrobe, and Summing Up My First Me Made May

As I stated in my original post about Me Made May, I have always wanted to participate, but never quite felt ready. After having a prolific (for me) year of sewing I finally felt that I had enough handmade clothes to attempt Me Made May. Even though I knew that May would be a crazy month for me I made a Me May Made pledge, with a twist:

I, Sarah of Sarah Kate Creations, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’15. I endeavor to wear three handmade garments a week for the duration of May 2015. I also commit myself to bringing a 75% handmade wardrobe with me to NYC in the last week of May 2015.IMG_2774

My vacation was technically the last week of May and the first week of June, but I knew that my current lifestyle wasn’t going to allow me to wear many of my pretty dresses until my vacation. Through May I was going through Skate Camp with the Sonoma County Roller Derby to fulfill my dreams of being a Derby Girl and passed my basic skills assessment, and worked as a Pilates instructor during the week and went classes on the weekends. Basically, I was constantly in workout gear. Now I knew that my wardrobe wouldn’t reflect my active lifestyle so I gave myself a pledge that would be a challenge, but that I could handle. I also realize that if I truly want a fully handmade wardrobe that eventually I will have to sew workout gear, but it is just so unappealing to me. Maybe I will start with some fun derby clothes. Galaxy spandex leggings anyone?

Okay, so I know you all really want to know. How did I do with my pledge. Well, I did okay at the pledge itself. I managed to wear handmade clothes 3x p/week except once and my travel wardrobe was definitely handmade. I didn’t do so well at documenting these outfits on Instagram, but that wasn’t really part of my pledge. So all in all I think I did pretty good during my first Me Made May. IMG_2760

Best way to display my clothes? Hang them on the line! These are my unblogged Gertie Pencil Skirts.

During my trip I spent 7 days in NYC and 3 days in Baltimore and D.C at the National Mall, plus two travel days. The trip was exciting, fulfilling, and exhausting. Some of the highlights for me was, seeing the Ruby Slippers, Van Gogh’s Starry Night, and Monet’s Lillies. Watching It’s Only A Play on Broadway, and stand up at the Comedy Cellar, and of course shopping at Mood (which deserves its own separate post). And that was only a tiny portion of what we did there was also the FOOD, brunch at the Dead Rabbit, fish at Eatily, and burger’s at the Shack Shake, yum. Anyways you are probably here for the clothes not to hear me talk about all the great food I ate.

My Handmade Travel Wardrobe for Spring in NYC:

1 Colette Jasmine Blouse

1 Sleeveless Sewaholic Renfrew (unblogged)

1 Bluegingerdoll Bonnie Sweater/Shirt

1 Colette Mabel Pencil Skirt

1 Self Drafted Knit Maxi Skirt (unblogged)

3 Gertie Pencil Skirts (unblogged)

1 Colette Ginger Skirt

1 Self drafted stretch denim pencil skirt (unblogged)

1 Colette Hazel Dress

1 Colette Peony Dress

1 Deer and Doe Belladone Dress (unblogged)

1 True Bias Southport Max Dress (unblogged)

1 Maxi BHL Anna Dress

1 Bluegingerdoll Violet Dress (unblogged)

1 Cropped Victoria Blazer 

As you can see I was a little short on blouses, I had to make an emergency run to target for some nice knit tops right before leaving town. Something I do not like doing. So Me Made May did show me some gaps in my handmade wardrobe, tops and workout clothes. I already have some patterns in mind, including Grainline’s Archer and Tilly’s new knit top, Agnes. I also have a ton of clothes that I haven’t had time to photograph. I put sewing ahead of staying on top of the blog in the month of May. This means that the blog was a little sparse for a while, but should have a consistent flow of posts in the coming weeks. I already have some pieces photographed and ready to go.

NYC-trip-4 In my Peony at the National Mall.

NYC-Trip-3

My Colette Hazel Dress with Monet’s Waterlillies at the MOMA.

NYC-trip-2

My first Belladone in Battery Park NYC. Can you see the Statue of Liberty in the background?

Leave a Reply

