Wardrobe Architect 2015 – January

When I first started sewing in 2011 I had two main motivators, a need for a creative outlet, and a need for more ethically obtained clothing. Like Kirsten from Colette Patterns I had a strong point of view when it came to fast fashion in high school. Although I still don’t shop at Old Navy in recent years I have found myself finding excuses to shop at the newer fast fashion chains, like H&M, Forever 21, and Zara. Trying to convince myself that because these stores hadn’t been caught doing anything wrong they were more ethical than chains started in the 90s. I know, total BS. Then there was the incident in Bangladesh and I realized that I needed to recommit to my ethical fashion goals. So last year when Sarai started the Wardrobe Architect I was in… for the first four weeks. Now, to be fair to myself I had no idea that the Wardrobe Architect would be a 14 week course, I thought that I was showing up for a four to six week sprint, not a marathon. This time I know what I am getting into, a year long reevaluation of my style, my wardrobe, and my ethics and how that relates to my sewing. I am not only ready, but excited to join in on this year long adventure.

WA2015-week-01-650x399

Through the next year I all be following along with the Wardrobe Architect 2015 Challenge. I plan on posting monthly updates with the occasional weekly check in if there is a lot going on that month. For January Kristen asked us to go over the first four weeks of the Wardrobe Architect. Luckily for me those are the only weeks that I had previously blogged about. Week One was all about figuring out your personal story and how you relate to your body and style in general. Week Two was all about evaluating your personal style. We were asked to list 3-5 words that we would use to describe your style. My words are chic, casual, comfortable, elegant, powerful, fun. And yes, that is 6 words. We were also asked to pick out some outfits that represented our style, I’ve posted some of those below.

BurberryProrsum_008_1366.683x1024 314905abce451e05d29dfc7621dd15f3 5266824065_0ee408d5f6_z

I ended up combining Week 3/4 into one post. Week three was about defining silhouettes. I realized that I like form fitting clothes, although this year I have been enjoying flowy tops when pared with form fitting bottoms. Week Four was about putting these shapes into outfits. These are some of my favorite outfits that I put together.

c400x524

Outfit #1

c400x521

Outfit #2

c400x389

Outfit #3

 

Kristen also asked us to put together an inspiration of 20 patterns. I chose to do this on Pinterest. I must admit that this was hard and I couldn’t quite get it down to 20, although I was quite proud of getting it down to 24. I believe that we will have the chance to further narrow this list later. If you would like to look at some of the patterns I chose you should go to my Wardrobe Architect – January Pinterest board.

That was it for January. In February I believe that we will be looking through our closets in order to eliminate thing that don’t fit our style or are old and stained. I truly am looking forward to that, but I’ll let you know how it goes at the end of the month 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Najah says:

    That cropped jacket, skinny jeans silhouette is the jam! Good luck with the challenge. I’m enjoying the process, too.

  2. I love the skinny jeans look. Now if only I can find a pair that fit…

Leave a Reply

