New Orleans Hazel Dress

It seems weird to write a new post without mentioning my absence on the blog, but I don’t want to dwell on it too long. We can’t change the past, all I can hope is that I will be sticking around for awhile this time. Although I have been absent from this blog I have been lurking around the sewing world. Loving all the creations and inspiration on my blog roll over the Summer, you ladies are so inspiring I just had to jump back in the blogging game. I have been sewing up a storm this Summer and plan on blogging my backlog before firmly rooting myself into the Fall. Expect to see, Peony, Jasmine, Mabel, Designs by Gertie, and possibly a fun apron and granola recipe! Now without further ado, my Hazel by Colette Patterns.

Hazel Dress For New Orleans

I made this Hazel back in April, yes April, for New Orleans Jazzfest. The dress made it and was perfect for hot, humid, days, and long, sweaty, dance fueled, nights. I loved this little dress and plan to make more next Summer, hopefully the right fabric for the dress will find me.

New Orleans Hazel Dress

 

I like sundresses, but am easily annoyed by showing bra straps, I’ll do it, but I don’t like it. I was so happy to be able to adjust to straps to where I like them. Although on my next Hazel I will shorten the straps a smidge (very technical measurement).

Hazel Dress For Jazzfest

This dress is unlined and I really debated if it was opaque enough. In the end I decided that the easy breezy Summer dress feel was well worth the flash of the silhouette of my legs in certain light, how risqué! I adjusted the bust darts curving them slightly as suggested by the many Hazel pattern reviews online. I managed to avoid the pointy dart syndrome that so many encountered with this dress. This dress has the longest zipper on the planet because for some silly reason I forgot to shorten it. It ends roughly four inches from the hem.  Oh well, it doesn’t seem to affect the drape of the garment much.

Hazel Dress with Jacket

This is how I styled the dress in New Orleans. I danced the night away at The Blue Nile in this outfit and a pair of biker boots.

New-Orleans-Dress-#2

I love this fabric, I believe it is a batiste. It is light like a voile with a slight shine that has lasted through several washes, but does seem to be fading.

New-Orleans-Dress-6

 

I love how the dress displays my tattoo. This is enough of a reason for me to make this dress again. 

The dress is fatalistic, fun, and flirty, but I am not sure how much I like gathered skirts on my body. I also think that if/when I make this dress again I would lengthen the skirt by 2 or 3 inches.

New-Orleans-Dress-7

Prancing away… Don’t worry, I’ll be back again soon.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. megsewing says:

    I love the fabric you used!! The black in the middle really makes the print stand out more. It’s a beauty of a dress 🙂

    1. Thank you! I wish it wasn’t getting so cold. I love wearing this dress.

  2. lindsymoran says:

    I have to agree; you made this dress fabulous!

    1. Thank you! It’s a great dress for muggy weather, but rarely gets hot enough in Northern California to wear.

Leave a Reply

