Goals of 2014

I think that New Year’s Resolutions get a bad rap. People tend to think that they are all about fad diets and failed dreams. I tend to think of them as more of a time for reflection, which is always good. It is a time to reflect on what you have accomplished in the past year as well as look at the potential of the coming year.

In preparation for this post I was looking at my Goals of 2013, which I have saved to my computer. There were some goals about diets and weight loss, but I have decided to leave those out this year. I want to be healthy, but I want to focus on goals beyond my physical appearance. Last year I didn’t put in any solid sewing goals and honestly I didn’t make very many garments, hopefully this will change in the coming year. Of, course some of my goals are the same, not giving up is something I’m good at, along with procrastination.

When choosing my goals I like to envision how I want them to play out in the end and also the steps that are needed to get there. I find having an envisioned path helps me to accomplish my goals. It is important to make your goals manageable, but I think it is just as important to make them fun and daring, don’t let 2014 bore you. I enjoy a challenge. I also like to make lots of goals in varying topics. Making a lot of goals doesn’t work for everyone, but I can’t seem to stay focused in just one area. Also, more goals allow you more times to succeed. As long as I accomplish some of these goals over the coming year I’ll consider it a win.

What I did last year:

  • I got married.
  • Sewed my first fully lined dress and my first invisible zipper.
  • I learned to love hand stitching and perfected my split stitch in embroidery.
  • I rallied around my Aunt Nancy during her struggle with cancer, which lead to her passing over the summer. An experience that called on levels of myself that I didn’t know existed and taught me lessons I didn’t know I had to learn.
  • Fell in love with Pilates. Hard.
  • Met my nephew for the first time.

Goals accomplished from last year:

  • I completed the 21-day Crazy Sexy Cleanse even throwing in another 2 week cleanse over the summer.
  • Overall I would say that I accomplished my goal of working out twice a week, but, of course, there were some exceptions.
  • Have been doing MUCH more around the house and have created a cleaning chart I try and stick to.
  • In the process of finishing a quilt.
  • Have been building an inventory for my now closed Etsy shop, but not very fast. I still only have one purse design finished, but have another one just waiting to be sewn up.

Goals for the New Year:

  1. Take my Pilates certificate classes starting in March. I want to really dedicate myself to Pilates and Pilates training.
  2. Learn to use my camera. I will do this by taking a beginner photography class at the local junior college.
  3. Open up my Etsy shop. Have products up in time for the holiday rush next year (October?).
  4. Go to Palmer/Pletsch fit workshop in Portland.
  5. Get basic Photoshop skills. I would like to understand layering, photo editing, and patching skills in order to better my blog posts. I will do this by diligently reading and practicing Photoshop from a book that I bought as a Christmas present to myself.
  6. Sew a garment of clothing a month.
  7. Post a blog post at least every two weeks.
  8. To continue working towards completing my weekly cleaning schedule (a real challenge for me).

I, Sarah Kate, solemnly swear to try my hardest to accomplish these goals. To not beat myself up over the ones I don’t accomplish and to celebrate the ones I do.

IMG_0234

Another picture of the beautiful Northern California Coast to bring you into the New Year.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Gabriela Buchholz Athens says:

    Best thing I could have first thing on the first morning of the new year!! Such an inspiration chica!!! Go for it!

    1. Gabriela Buchholz Athens says:

      Best thing I could have read^

  2. Pandora says:

    Thanks for the inspiration! Making my lists now.

Leave a Reply

