My Top 5 Hits

I immediately loved the idea of Gillian’s Top 5 posts. I love reflecting at the end of the year. I was quickly dismayed to find out that I didn’t make enough garments this past year to have five hits and five misses. I feel like I have been creating and sewing a lot this year. I immediately started feeling doubt over my skills or whether or not I could consider myself a “real” seamstress with so little sewing actually completed this year. Then I read Lucky Lucille’s recent post and realized that, of course, we are all plagued by self doubt, the key is to not let it stop you. Upon further reflection of my year as a whole I realized that most of my creative energy went to my wedding this year. If I opened my Top 5 Hits beyond garments I would have plenty of items for my top five list. I wanted to participate, however I’ve decided to keep it positive and just do the hits, general reflection will be in another post, but not necessarily in the Top 5 format. So here it goes, my Top 5 Hits:

Crafting a Rainbow Top 5

5. Tiramisu: This dress was a great accomplishment for me because the previous year I had tried to sew a knit dress and it was a total disaster. It felt great to get back on the horse, as they say, and try a knit dress. A much more complicated knit dress. I love it and wore it as often as I could before the weather turned chilly.

tiramisu at wailea beach

4. My Nephew’s Quilt: I actually didn’t manage to get a very good photo of this, which is just silly. I made the quilt face and had it quilted on a longarm machine to unsure durability. I was proud of this one because it had been awhile since my last quilt. This one was more complicated with fussy cut center squares. It was extra special because Superman helped pick out the fabric!

IMG_1462

3. Purses: I finished a bunch of purses for my Etsy shop that I cut at the beginning of the year, but took me ALL YEAR to finish. I would have liked to finish them faster, but I was proud that I stuck to it and it felt so good when I finished. Have I ever told you that I am a master procrastinator?

Sarah Kate Creations iPhone wristlet

2: Anna Dress: I love this dress, it is my favorite garment of the year. It was my first time using Rayon and I fell in love. It was my first time wearing a maxi dress (for realz) and I fell in love. It was my first time using the Ann pattern (or any By Hand London pattern) and I fell in love. I can’t wait to do it all again next summer.

The anna dress pattern by hand l

1: Wedding Accessories and Embroidered Centerpieces: My most cherished pieces of the year are related to my wedding. My embroidered love word centerpieces (which I hope to turn into a quilt over the coming year), my carefully handsewn hairband, purse, and ring pillow. Items that I will cherish forever.

Handmade wedding bag and headband.

wedding embroidery centerpieces

Handmade ring pillow

One Comment Add yours

  1. lindsymoran says:

    This is so awesome! I’m really looking forward to seeing what you create in the coming year!

Leave a Reply

