My Sewing Machine Review: Janome Magnolia 7330

This Blog post is in response to Sew Mama Sew’s call for sewing machine reviews. I want to start by saying that I love my machine. Thank you.

Magnolia_7330

Photo source and link to official Janome site with Magnolia 7330 features listed.

What brand and model do you have? I have a Janome Magnolia 7330. It is a computerized machine with 30 stitches.

How long have you had it? Just over a year.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)? It’s list price is $600, but it seems to be on a permanent overstock sale. I paid $400 for mine a local dealer. It is also available on Amazon.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)? Clothing, Handbags, Quilting, from most sewn projects to least.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get? I am pretty brutal to my machines. I need a workhorse, not a delicate flower and this machine fits the bill. I sew as often as I can, at least a couple times a week.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name? I love my machine. She is soooooooooo much better than my starter machine (Brother CS 6000i, ban of my existence/I think I got a dud). She sews through multiple layers, has great tension, and a straight stitch. She doesn’t have a name, yet, but apparently she does have a gender. I love my machine so much I convinced a friend to buy the same model. Now we are twinsies!

What features does your machine have that work well for you? It sews anything I want, thick or thin. I love the speed control (although it seems most machines have that now). I like how she is simple and strong. I don’t need a million decorative stitches, I just want the few functional stitches that I use to work well.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine? The light could be brighter and the sewing space on the machine bed could be wider, but other than that I am very happy with my machine.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why? Yes, I already have, in fact. It is a good machine for those who are starting out, but want their machine to grow with them. It is a solid machine that is easy to thread and has a thorough manual for when you get stuck.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine? It’s motor strength and stitch speeds. Does it shake when you sew? I highly recommend buying a machine from somewhere that you can test it and where they repair machines. I also look for automatic buttonholers.

Do you have a dream machine? I do dream of upgrading someday, but am very happy for now. What I really want is a coverstitch machine.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. sandra says:

    I would like to say that I have been looking for a sewing machine and researching on-line and most people that have any are old ones and some new, but they dont like them and there is always something wrong with them and sometimes more than one thing.I also saw that the Ratings on the sewing machines are years ago from peope and from consumer reports. I saw a Janome Magnolia 7330 like yours but it said they didnt make them anymore so I just wondered if it is hard to get extra feet for it? I didnt see a place on-line that had some. Can it use any Janome feet? where did you get your Janome Magnolia sewing machine? I havent sewed in a very very long time and I am a Grandmother of 2 Grandchildren and I want to sew clothes for them and make things for my Daughters houses. I will have to take sewing lessons again though. I noticed it didnt have a sewing machine case and they also didnt have one for this certain machine. Could you help me? I would really appreciate it so much. Thank you

    1. I did not realize that they stopped making them. The machine will use all Janome feet and many generic feet as well. I bought my machine at a local shop, but they are available on Amazon. As for a case, I just use a generic soft one, that doesn’t quite fit it properly, but allows me to move it easily. I will say that it isn’t the lightest machine in the world. Have fun picking at a machine and reacquainting yourself with sewing!

      1. Sandra says:

        Thank you so much for replying to me so soon.
        I thought about buying one on Amazon but I might not get a warranty and then I dont know if they would send everything I suppose to get with it. I noticed some people dont get things with it like they suppose to and they have to call them a bunch of times to get them. Could you tell me where you got your carrier for your sewing machine and the name and how much it cost? How did you know if it would mostly fit? I want to take sewing classes and I will need to take it with me. Did you get a table for it or do you have it on your kitchen table?
        How long have you been sewing? Did you teach yourself?

Leave a Reply

