My First Tiramisu Dress

Last day in Maui, on Wailea Beach before heading to the airport.
Last day in Maui, on Wailea Beach before heading to the airport.

All the way back in July I told the world I was going to start on my first Tiramisu by Cake Patterns. Tiramisu is only my second successfully finished knit fabric project. Previously I had made a t-shirt based off of a favorite from my closet and I had a easy knit dress go completely wrong when my serger thoroughly ate my fabric. Yes, my serger, after taking a knits class I fell so quickly in love that I had a serger in just a couple of short months. That was a year ago and I still don’t fully understand this versatile machine. Not to fear, I have a Craftsy course on the subject that is just waiting to be finished and blogged about.

Showing of the full skirt in front of the Four Seasons Maui
Showing of the full skirt in front of the Four Seasons Maui

Anyways back to the Tiramisu, I loved the sizing system! It was like a little puzzle. Unfortunately, I fear that I will still have to give it a slight FBA for the next one. Although I am going to wait and see if I notice a difference when I use a slinkier fabric, like a rayon blend.

Looking very serious chilling on some lava rocks. Man, those things are sharp.
Looking very serious chilling on some lava rocks. Man, those things are sharp.

Originally I planned to wear the dress on my Honeymoon in Maui, but I have to be honest with you. The luscious full circle skirt was practically uncontrollable in Maui’s strong afternoon trade winds. So I wore this comfy dress on the plane ride home and looked damn good doing it. Accept when I was being attacked by the floor fans at the security gate. I am considering making this bodice with a more A-line skirt. Has anyone done this? Does anyone have a way to keep full skirts down?

The back of the dress.
The back of the dress.

As for the specifics of the dress I cut a 35 in the high bust, a D in the bodice and a 30 in the waist. This was a learner project with my serger and I did make some mistakes. Mainly cutting of the gathering along one of the busts. My friends say that they can’t tell, but I am sure it must have effected the fit. Another reason why I want to make another dress before committing to an FBA.

What do you think An FBA or no? Maybe just lengthen the bodice a bit, or maybe nothing. I tend to over think these things.
What do you think An FBA or no? Maybe just lengthen the bodice a bit, or maybe nothing. I tend to over think these things.

Besides my serger mishap I followed the instructions to the T, besides shortening the dress to my desired length. So, this is pretty much a nice wearable muslin. I skipped hemming the skirt because I was slightly intimidated and didn’t have time to take it on in the weeks before my wedding, but I think that it looks great.

I am looking forward to making another Tiramisu and have ordered the hard copy of the Red Velvet dress!

This is my new husband and I standing in front of the fountain at the Four Seasons in Maui
This is my new husband and I standing in front of the fountain at the Four Seasons in Maui
4 Comments Add yours

  1. nishi says:

    Congratulations! What a great dress and beautiful setting for the photographs! I completely understand the pain of an FBA so totally understand avoiding it as much as possible…!

    1. Yeah, I tend to lean towards Colette patterns and others drafted towards a larger bust. Not only are they cute, but I can avoid a FBA!

  2. Emmely says:

    This dress looks very flattering on you!

Leave a Reply

