Wedding update and 30 Days of Lists, Day #1

I am not going to make excuses for my absence here, but I will warn you that this post is not fully sewing related just an update from a busy girl getting married in two weeks.

This is where Me and my future husband will be standing when we say "I do" Simply magical.
This is where my future husband and I will be standing when we say “I do” Simply magical.

Today was the first day of 30 Days of Lists, this is a journaling technique where journal entries are presented in list form. In the past I have been an avid journal keeper, but in recent years have given up the hobby. I feel like this might be a good way to get the ball rolling again. It is also a good way to record the chaos that is planning a wedding.  I will not be posting all my entries here, but I have decided to post some as a way for you guys to get to know me a bit better. So here it goes,

Question: What’s new so far this year?

I am planning a wedding (2 weeks!)

This includes more DIY projects then I have ever tackled in one year.

My aunt Nancy passed from Cancer.

I became an aunt and visited my nephew in Tennessee.

I went VIP to a music festival for the first time.

I learned to hand sew.

I did my first cleanse (twice!)

I became a Pilates freak.

If anyone is interested in participating there is still time, just follow the previously mentioned link.

Now for the wedding….

Things are starting to happen fast around here. All the things that I said could wait until the last minute are happening now. My goal is to be 90% ready for the event by the end of this week when I head out on a rafting trip for my Bachelor(ette) party. I plan on giving a very thorough rundown of all the beautiful details that i have worked so tirelessly on after the wedding. This will include a couple of basic tutorials. So far I have made, bunting, a cardbox, many, many hand painted signs, a ring pillow, hand embroidered center pieces, purses, a hand knotted pearl necklace, lawn games and much, much, more!

Unfortunately, every time I tried to incorporate sewing into my wedding the stress level went through the roof. So instead of sewing for such and important event I have sewn a couple new dresses for the Honeymoon in Maui (I will show you the dresses when I get back from my Honeymoon. I want to take advantage of the gorgeous background). One is the previously mentioned Tiramisu, which is just waiting to be hemmed. To be honest I am a little scared of hemming the full, knit, circle skirt, but the dress looks great on so I am sure I will get there eventually. I have also started an Anna Dress. I am making the maxi version with the thigh high split and the V neckline. I am making it in a rayon challis Amy Butler Soul Blossoms print that I got on sale for $4 a yard. This fabric is much brighter and busier than I wear on a day to day basis, but I thought that it would be perfect for a Honeymoon in Maui! Here are some pics from the internet to give you an idea of what I am making….

Amy Butler Soul Blossom in Sea Glass
Amy Butler Soul Blossom in Sea Grass

Link to photo credit

Anna Dress from By Hand London

Link to photo credit

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Gabriela says:

    Love the list thing…what’s new for me this year? Reading blogs! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. lindsymoran says:

    I love the fabric, jones-ing to see the dress! Your wedding will be so magical and full of personal touches.I’m so excited to get home and share in some of these everyday activities with you. This list thing seems like a good start! ❤ Have fun!

Leave a Reply

