Finished Tofino Pyjama Pants!

So, I swear my PJs were done last night. I diligently stuck to my deadline for finishing the pants, but forgot to factor in photos! Unfortunately, my personal, very handsome, photographer had work early this morning, so I dutifully waited his return to take these photos.

Chillin' in my new Tofino PJs
Chillin’ in my new Tofino PJs

I am very happy with how these pants turned out, although because I made them out of flannel I may not get to wear them until this winter. This was my first pair of pants and I have to say that with the Did You Make That? sew-a-long and a glance at the great technical photos from the pattern these pants where easy peasy.

Creating chaos in my new Tofinos.
Creating chaos in my new Tofinos.
Responding to Karen's call for a pillow fight.
Responding to Karen’s call for a pillow fight.

It was also my first time sewing piping, for this reason I chose to use premade piping, just to eliminate one new and slightly intimidating step. I used a piping foot and now think that piping will become my new favorite detail to add to a pattern, it was sew easy! Next time I will definately make my own.

As I mentioned in a previous post I graded down from a 12 at the waist to a 8 at the hips (This is because Sewaholic patterns are graded for a pear shaped body). At first I thought that they were a little too roomy, but after wearing them for the shoot I think I like the fit, they are lounge pants after all. I also really love the high rise in the back of the pant, no plumbers crack for me! Would I make these again? YES, but in a cooler fabric, or possibly as shorts.

These pants are perfect for lounging around reading a good book on my deck, especially on this unusually overcast day.
These pants are perfect for lounging around reading a good book on my deck, especially on this unusually overcast day.

And now for some serious Sewaholic Tofino Pyjama Pant photos:

Side view
Side view
Back View
Back View
Front view
Front view
10 Comments Add yours

  1. jake says:

    Looks good and fun too

  2. Gabby says:

    You are the most fabulous! Love the shirt too 🙂

    1. Thanks! I can’t wait for High Sierra this year!

      1. Gabby says:

        So excited! (Like the picture of you bouncing on the bed.) Especially since my ultra fabulous gal pal will be there!

  3. lindsymoran says:

    Good job on the piping!

  4. Catherine says:

    fabulous! i love this flannel print. my local fabric store seems to only cater to kids and older ladies… oh well
    Fantastic work anyway!

  5. Fantastic photos and fabulous PJs. I really like your colour combinations – so fresh and cheerful. Thanks for taking part!

    1. Thanks Karen. I love yellow, my sewing room is the same color!

  6. Those colours are so vibrant. Great ‘jump shot’ picture!

Leave a Reply

