Oh Spring!

The past few weeks of spring have held many things for me including flowers, family, and my college graduation. Yes, after seven long years I have finally graduated college with a BA in Liberal Studies through Sonoma State University. I am constantly defending my degree which has a reputation as the degree without a job, until I explain that my degree has set me up to become a teacher. This somehow eases peoples’ minds even though my job prospects in this field are grim. Really my degree means so much more; it has allowed me to take my education into my own hands, giving me no absolutes and always begging me to question. It gave me confidence in myself and my creativity and I wouldn’t change it for the world. Graduation day was wonderful, sunny, and full of family. I couldn’t have asked for anything more.Sarah Kate's Graduation

I also started my first herb garden this Spring planting starts in three wine barrels on my porch and around my yard. I have struggled with vegetables in the past due to the fact that I pretty much live in a forest and my yard is very shaded, but am confident that my little herbs will grow. I planted cilantro, parsley, pineapple sage, rosemary, basil, lavender, thyme, and lemon thyme. I plan to use these herbs for cooking, but also for herbal remedies. I dream of mine is to someday make my own herbal beauty products out of herbs grown from my garden. I figure start small, dream big and plan on adding chamomile, calendula, and echinacea next year. I places about an inch and a half of gravel at the bottom of the barrels and then filled the rest up with dirt, added beneficial enzymes and planted my starts. I got lovely, healthy, plants and Harmony Farm Supply in Sebastopol, CA.

Wine barrel herb garden
These are my freshly planted herbs…aren’t they cute!
rosemary and lemon balm
Rosemary and Lemon Balm

I have celebrated the season and my graduation by spending as much time as possible on the shores of my inspiration, the Pacific Ocean. Today I went for a very windy drive along the Pacific Coast Highway, my family and I headed up the road about an hour north from were I lived to visit Salt Point State Park. Although I live locally I rarely make it up this way and was impressed with the sandstone coast line. I felt like I was walking on the moon. My mother came across a spot where the water came rushing past and it was possible to sit and stare into the waves, we even saw a small sea lion! The day was perfect and I can’t wait to go back and hike into the forest, where the views of the ocean must be just amazing.

California poppies on the beach
California poppies growing in the sand, something I had never seen before.
Sandstone by the ocean
We climbed on these rocks on our way to the beach. It was kinda like walking on the Moon, if there was lots of water there.
Salt Point State Park water channel
We hung out by this water channel for a while. It was awesome all kinds of things growing on the exposed rocks. I even saw a sea lion!
Pacific Coast Highway, California
The view from the Pacific Coast Highway driving from Salt Point towards San Francisco.

Obviously this Spring has been a full one for me and if it is any indication of the Summer I am ready. This weekend I will be attending the Bay Area Maker Faire on Saturday, you can expect a blog Monday. Next week I head to Yosemite for a four night camping extravaganza, so be ready for Instagram awesomeness on the Sarah Kate Creations Twitter feed.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pineapple sage is a refreshing addition to iced tea.

  2. Jake says:

    Such a great week !!!!!

Leave a Reply

