Spring is Here: A Pretty Blue Anna

By Hand London Anna Dress by Sarah Kate CreationsI am still in love with the Anna dress. I wanted to make a pretty Spring version to welcome the coming season. I love the color of the fabric that I used and the delicateness of the dress. I feel like a pretty prairie girl when I wear it. The fabric I used is a nice voile from Amy Butler’s  Cameo Collection and is called Forget Me Not. I bought the fabric during Black Friday sales from Hawthorne Threads, they don’t have any of the fabric left, but they have the color way in a quilting cotton. I absolutely loved working with this fabric. It is opaque for a voile, but is still buttery soft. It pressed like a dream. Oh cotton, so much better than the Tencel I used to make my last dress. Destroyed by the iron and washing, my fault, and I was so embarrassed I couldn’t even show you, my dear readers. Oh, the shame. Okay moving on…

By Hand London Anna Dress by Sarah Kate Creations

Posing in the lush forest that is my backyard.

By Hand London Anna Dress by Sarah Kate Creations

Here I am quinting in the sun by the apple orchard. No blossoms yet, guess it’s not quite spring.

I still made no alterations to the pattern beyond my original addition of a little extra fabric at the shoulders. I still think that it may need a small FBA, but you know what? I think it looks nice, and I am a little lazy, I mean I’ll sew the dress,but an FBA too? Nah. I finished all the seams on my overlocker with grey thread. I really like the way the grey looks sliver next to the blue. I am quite please with the inside of this dress. I lined the skirt with Bemberg fabric as the skirt was a bit see-through when the sun was shining. I used the Hazel skirt as a pattern. It was out and easy as that is what I am making next (it is waiting patiently all cut and ready to go). Instead of gathering the skirt I kind of pleated it to make it match the Anna pattern. I think that I should have started with a little less fabric, but it worked out fine. The sleeves are finished by hand and the hem is simply serged and folded it up once. I am not sure whether or not I will like this technique in the long run, but I wanted a nice light hem to match the fabric.By Hand London Anna Dress by Sarah Kate Creations

I am still trying to master the invisible zipper. I feel like I did a bit better this time, but it is still a little puckery. I also ended up with a tuck at the bottom, but it was much smaller and I was able to fix it. This time when I sewed in the zip I reviewed Sunni Standing’s Craftsy video. I reinforced the seam with a little bit of interfacing and, unlike in the video, I used a bit of wonder tape to stick the zipper in place. It works great and besides the puckering is quite invisible.

By Hand London Anna Dress by Sarah Kate Creations

My first “guts” photos…

By Hand London Anna Dress by Sarah Kate Creations

I was quite proud of my neckline because I thought it looked quite pretty and professional. I used advice from the Craftsy class 40 Techniques Every Sewer Should Know for understitching and grading seam allowances. I have used these techniques before, but I enjoyed the fresh perspective and the gentle hand holding. I’m not good enough to say I don’t appreciate a little help. I also added little stitches to pin the facing down at the shoulders and a few places along the bodice. I think they came out quite invisible. Can you see them?

By Hand London Anna Dress

The necklace that I chose for this photo shoot is quite special to me. The flower pendant was part of a costume jewelry necklace I bought in the metro on my first trip to Paris when I was 18. The rest of the necklace got old and broke, but the centerpiece managed to stick around. A couple years ago I repurposed the necklace by twisting strands of beads and Swarovski Crystals together to create a strand for the pendant. I love this necklace and its power as a statement piece. I think it looks great with this dress.

By Hand London Anna Dress by Sarah Kate Creations

Swinging on the swing in the backyard. We never really use it because it is very low to the ground. I was worried that the ropes might break after seven years of weather, but luckily they held up.

By Hand London Anna Dress by Sarah Kate Creations

I made this dress to wear to Jazzfest at the end of April.  It came out just the way I wanted it to and I am really looking forward to wearing it while listening to some amazing music and eating killer food.

3 thoughts on “Spring is Here: A Pretty Blue Anna

  1. Ha ha! I feel your pain on the FBA! It’s just so much effort! This neckline really really suits you and that colour is SO fresh and cheerful! Lovely!

Leave a Reply

